exercise · fitness · modern life · Uncategorized · working out

Running Wild

Last year my husband and I, along with another couple, did an 8 week program to eat healthy & lose weight. I was able to lose about 18 pounds, even with the miscarriage in our 2nd week. They focused a lot on not giving into emotional eating.

Fast forward about a year: I’ve gained about 38% of the weight I lost last year back, most recently 1.2 pounds in 2 weeks (whoops). I’m not going to be super hard on myself since I did quit smoking (for good) 6 months ago, but my cousin’s wedding and a union conference are both in October so I need to focus on these to help me get back into better shape. I’m also thinking about taking the State Trooper’s Exam, and would like to pass the physical if called (if nothing else just to say I did it).

So in addition to trying to be more vigilant about using MyFitnessPal to watch what I’m eating, I’m also trying out the “Goals” section of MapMyFitness. I’m starting off small: walking 4 times a week (I can count the walk between my parking lot and office if needed; I opted out of the mileage requirement) and running and riding my bike each once a week.

For me, the hardest part is starting anything. Here’s a picture of me after I ran this morning:

I know a few people who exercise as a way to relieve stress, but I thought I was going to die. Between running and walking it took me about 17 minutes for 1.2 miles, which I didn’t think was terrible for my first time.

Even though I ate everything in the world at the Erie County Fair last night, I feel like running once entitles me to automatically drop 10 pounds and be in phenomenal shape. That’s how this works, right?

Let me know if you have any tips or tricks for staying on track with your health goals. Something tells me I’m going to need a lot of help.

Leave a Reply

